The Rhys Davies Short Story Competition is a distinguished national writing competition for writers born or living in Wales. Originally established in 1991, we are delighted to manage this prestigious award on behalf of The Rhys Davies Trust and in association with Parthian Books.

About Rhys Davies

Rhys Davies as a young man

Born in Blaenclydach, near Tonypandy in the Rhondda, in 1901, Rhys Davies was among the most dedicated, prolific, and accomplished of Welsh prose-writers in English. With unswerving devotion and scant regard for commercial success, he practised the writer’s craft for some fifty years, in both the short story and the novel form, publishing in his lifetime a substantial body of work on which his literary reputation now firmly rests. He wrote, in all, more than a hundred stories, twenty novels, three novellas, two topographical books about Wales, two plays, and an autobiography. 


  • 1st Prize - £1,000 sterling and publication in a short story anthology to be published by Parthian Books in 2022.

  • 11 x Runners-up/Finalist Prizes - £100 each and publication in a short story anthology to be published by Parthian Books in 2022.

How to enter

Open for entries: MONDAY 13th DECEMBER 2021
Deadline for receipt of entries: TUESDAY 22nd MARCH 2022 AT MIDNIGHT

How to enter:

  1. Read the Entry Rules, Terms and Conditions - 2022 Rhys Davies Short Story Competition
  2. Pay the entry fee and receive your unique reference number CLICK HERE. For details of eligibility for free entry, please consult the terms and conditions
  3. Please complete the entry form CLICK HERE.


Competition Guidelines FAQs

Rachel Trezise

We are delighted to announce that Rachel Trezise will be guest judge for the 2022 competition.

Rachel Trezise is a novelist and playwright from the Rhondda Valley. Her debut novel In and Out of the Goldfish Bowl won a place on the Orange Futures List in 2002. In 2006 her first short fiction collection Fresh Apples won the Dylan Thomas Prize. Her second short fiction collection Cosmic Latte won the Edge Hill Prize Readers Award in 2014. Her most recent play ‘Cotton Fingers’ toured Ireland and Wales and won the Summerhall Lustrum Award at the Edinburgh Fringe in 2019. Her most recent novel Easy Meat came out in 2021.

'Take a Bite': The Rhys Davies Anthology Online Launch - September 2021