Singleton Abbey from the Meadow

The current membership consists of: The Vice-Chancellor (in the Chair), the Provost, the Pro-Vice-Chancellors, other Professors of the University who are employed by the University, The Chairs and Deputy Chairs of the Boards of the Learning and Teaching Quality Committee and the Faculty Associate Deans, Fourteen elected representatives of the non-professorial staff chosen so that each of the Faculties is represented by at least four members and eight students appointed in accordance with regulations made from time to time by the Senate.

The Senate normally meets four times each year and its powers and constitution are set out in the University's Ordinance. Further information on the Senate is available from the Secretary to Senate.